Make Up

Maybelline Superstay 14 Hour Lipstick in ‘Always Plum’ | Review

Hey

As Halloween is fast approaching, I thought a good post to do would be a review of my absolute favourite Autumnal, plum lipstick. This is a product which I bought on a whim, but ended up absolutely loving – isn’t it great when that happens!

img_1626

First, let’s look at what Maybelline claim this product does. They state that it is a 14 hour, ultra-lightweight lipstick which has ‘pigments that are enveloped in a longwearing system’. I’m sure a lot of us are looking for that pigmented lipstick which requires minimal touchups throughout the day and, for £6.99, this product certainly delivers.

fullsizerender

The shade of this lipstick is absolutely beautiful. I love to wear this type of colour in the winter months, and feel this shade in particular would suit most skin tones. Saying that, it could be quite a daunting colour for those who do not usually wear more prominent colours on their lips.

The formula of this lipstick is definitely not a matte one. As a long-lasting lipstick it is definitely not on the dry side, but at the same time I cannot say that it particularly does anything to actively moisturise my lips. The 14 hour claim is a tad exaggerated, as I find that I could get about five hours wear of this lipstick before it starts to fade on the inside of my lips. I also think this product smells lovely, to me it’s a cherry/vanilla scent, but if you are bothered by scented make up products then don’t worry this scent fades after about five minutes of wear.

The packaging is not that stunning to me; I find it to look a bit cheap. But, saying that, it is quite sturdy as it has lasted over two winters worth of being chucked in the bottom of my handbag.

img_1621

To conclude, this lipstick is an affordable, long-lasting product which is very pigmented and in a colour which would suit many people. The formula means I can wear this product to work and university, with minimal touch up. The only cons about this lipstick would be the packaging does look quite cheap (but at the price we can forgive that!) and, while it is not drying, it does not nourish the lips. Overall, a staple product in my Autumn/Winter make up routine and a fantastic lipstick to wear out on Halloween!

Have you tried any products from this range before? What is you staple Autumn/Winter make up product?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

xx

Leave a Reply

