Make Up

Real Techniques Bold Metals Collection- Tapered Blush Brush | Review

Hi everyone!

Today I thought I would tell you my thoughts on the Real Techniques Bold Metals Tapered Blush Brush (or #300). In 2015, Real Techniques decided to introduce a new line of luxury make up brushes, which were designed by Sam and Nic Chapman (Pixiwoo on Youtube).

These brushes were marketed as having soft bristles, with handles which are weighted for ease of use. They use a colour-coded system to correspond with the steps of make up application; gold for base, platinum for the eye and rose gold for the finishing touches.

img_1639

As you can see, the Bold Metals 300 Tapered Blush Brush is a beautiful rose gold colour as it is intended for focused application of cheek colour.

These make up brushes have had mixed reviews from consumers. While some people love them, there is also criticism for the hefty price tag which comes with these brushes. This brush retails for £19.00 and, as a student, this was quite a lot for me to justify paying.

fotorcreated

I find this brush to be of very high quality, and therefore the synthetic hairs are very dense. The tapered head is meant for applying blush. I have read on other blogs that people find it to apply powder blush too strongly and unevenly onto the cheeks. I cannot say I agree with this, I use this brush everyday and find it works very well with the Estee Lauder Sweet Peach powder blush as it picks up a good amount of product. I do not use cream blush so cannot personally say how this works with that type of blush product.

I also love to use this make up brush for applying highlighter to the tops of my cheeks. As it is tapered I use one side for blush, one side for highlighter. Therefore I can just flip it round and use it multi functionally when applying my make up.

In terms of the weighted handle, I don’t believe this actually makes application any easier than I find it with the original brushes.

Overall, I feel that this product feels more luxurious than the core Real Techniques range of brushes. Although dense, I cannot say that I find the bristles to be any better quality than the core range, but the rose gold and pink make it look much more prettier to look at on my make up stand. I find it applies my blusher and highlighter exactly as I want it to, but I still can’t really justify the £19.00 price tag. If you’re looking for a treat and a makeup brush which will perform, this is perfect!

Have you tried any of the Real Techniques Bold Metals brushes? Do you find them expensive?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

xx

Leave a Reply

