Make Up

Revlon Colorstay Foundation | Review

Hey guys,

I have been waiting to do this post for a while now but decided to wait until I had a pretty new bottle to take a picture of! This is a foundation which I use daily and thought it would be helpful to some of you who have oily skin and struggle to find a foundation which stays put all day.

Before this I used No7’s Beautifully Matte foundation for around three years. I don’t know what happened but I started noticing that the foundation shade I always purchased just didn’t suit my skin tone as I got older, and I started getting a dreaded foundation line no matter how much I tried to blend!! I looked on blogs for new alternative, and after much deliberation decided to purchase the Revlon Colorstay Foundation for combination/oily skin in ‘150 Buff’.

FullSizeRender (21).jpg

Firstly, I have to say how I really like how Revlon released this product in different formulas for those who have combo/oily skin and normal/dry skin. Obviously, I haven’t tried the one for normal/dry skin but I presume it has a similar coverage, finish and long-lasting effects as the one I have.

fotorcreated-foundation

The shade ‘150 Buff‘ blends into my skin tone perfectly. I have yellow undertones to my skin, and find it quite difficult to find a foundation pale enough which doesn’t have pink undertones instead.IMG_1800.JPG

A little touch which I also like about this foundation is that it comes with a pump dispenser. I know that Revlon re-released this foundation recently with this addition as before you had to just pour product straight out the bottle onto your hand (which isn’t the most hygenic method)!

I like to apply this foundation with my hands and then buff it into my skin with a Real Techniques Buffing Brush. I like to get as much coverage as possible out of my foundations, so find this method helps me to build up coverage. If you wanted a thinner layer of foundation then you could apply it with a beauty blender or a brush.

As you can see from the picture above it is quite a thick foundation. It is medium to full coverage so if you are looking for a more natural finish this may not be ideal for you (although you could try applying it with a damp beauty blender and really working it into the skin).
FullSizeRender (20).jpg

The picture above shows just how much coverage over my acne scaring and redness that this foundation gives. It creates a semi-matte finish on my face, but I always powder over the top of it which makes it completely matte.

I love to wear this on a daily basis because I have never found such a reliable foundation before. It lasts so well on my skin, especially in areas which I have found other foundations to go patchy on throughout the day. Obviously, because this is formulated for oily skin, when I use it on areas of my face which are drier due to me using Panoxyl , it does cling to my dry skin and is hard to blend.

I absolutely adore this foundation. Its coverage, finish and long-lasting formula make it a complete winner for me, and I’m very interested to see what other products Revlon has to offer!

Have you tried this foundation before? What Revlon product can you not live without?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

xx

3 thoughts on “Revlon Colorstay Foundation | Review

  1. Your skin is gorgeous. Not that you need foundation but it is great that you’ve found one that works well on your skin. You mentioned using this over a drying skin formula. Have you tried blending in a primer like rosehip seed or watermelon oil? Both are soothing and very light so you can add extra foundation on top without looking cakey.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Charlotte, sorry to hear about the breakouts. You have a beautiful face. I’m breakout prone as well and that’s why I suggested the primer. It is totally working for me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

